Finally it was that time again, things were getting serious. Poor sleep and a high heart rate were the omens for an amateur racing driver when he went to the racetrack. After 12 hours of driving to the Toscana and an overnight stay, I was there, but first in the parking lot above the race track.

Chaos was inevitable as the GT3 cars in the Supertrofeo that were still running wanted to continue testing and we wanted to get into the pits as quickly as possible. After about 4 hours of waiting the fight began, the Italians didn't mind much, that must be the case. Another 1.5 hours of waiting for the pit key and then the Ecke team could finally get started.

Kurt Ecke is a close friend from former endurance races in the GTP series and has been running a team and looking after drivers and vehicles for decades. He also drives himself and has successfully participated in the 24-hour race at the Nürburgring many times. I was very happy that he took our car and I only had to worry about myself.

In the morning, with the old tires from Le Mans and the Gercollector test day, we went into the first qualifying and immediately came in second place. Cautious optimism was now the order of the day. In the afternoon in the second qualifying, all cards were on the table and I was still very happy with third place, as we also had two guest starters from the professional camp on board, one of whom was a little faster.

Race 1 at 5:00 p.m. with still 30 degrees was a fight from the start, fair, worth seeing and all possibilities were open, crossing the finish line in third place with a second gap, everyone was happy, me too.

Race 2 the following day in the morning left all possibilities open, unfortunately the time was too short to actually fight for victory. Starting with old tires, they needed some time to build up grip, so the leader was already ahead of me and by the time I had overtaken the two guest starters, despite catching up, I was still a few seconds behind Thomas Lindemann, who was also showing good pace.

Very satisfied with a grin on my face, we went home to reality on Monday. At this point, thanks again to the Ecke team for the excellent support.

(Report by Matthias Nonn)

Contact

TURBOGARAGE IN FRITZLAR

 

Address

Im Wehrengrund 2
34560 Fritzlar

Opening hours

Monday – Friday: 08:00 – 17:00 Uhr
Samstag by appointment

Phone

+49 5622 7981492

E-Mail

Send e-mail

How to find us

Unfortunately, our street is not yet shown on most maps. With the following description and sketch you should be able to find us easily.

  • A49 take exit 14 “Fritzlar”
  • (coming from the south: turn left onto L3150 towards Fritzlar)
  • Follow the right lane towards B450/Fritzlar/Edersee
  • Turn right onto L3214
  • At the traffic lights turn right onto B450
  • Immediately afterwards turn right again onto “Brautäcker”
  • And last but not least, turn left again
  • You are now “in the Wehrengrund” and will find us on the right-hand side

Data protection

Please enter the number 1356 to protect against spam before sending:

* Required field

Endlich war es wieder soweit, es wurde ernst. Schlechter Schlaf und eine hohe Pulsfrequenz waren die Vorzeichen für einen Hobbyrennfahrer, wenn es auf die Rennstrecke geht. Nach 12 Stunden Fahrt und einer Übernachtung war ich dann dort, zuerst aber auf dem Parkplatz oberhalb der Rennstrecke.

Das Chaos war vorprogrammiert, wollten die noch fahrenden GT3 Autos der Supertrofeo weiterhin testen und wir so schnell wie möglich in die Box. Nach ca. 4 Stunden Wartezeit begann der Kampf, den Italienern hat es wenig ausgemacht, muss wohl so sein. Noch 1,5 Stunden auf den Boxenschlüssel warten und dann konnte das Team Ecke endlich loslegen.

Kurt Ecke ist ein enger Freund von früher und betreibt seit Jahrzehnten ein Team und betreut Fahrer und Fahrzeuge. Er selbst fährt auch und war schon viele Male erfolgreich beim 24 Stunden Rennen auf dem Nürburgring vertreten. Ich war sehr froh, dass er unser Auto mitgenommen hat und ich mich nur um mich selbst kümmern musste.

Am Morgen dann mit den alten Reifen aus Le Mans und dem Testtag Gercollector in das erste Qualifying und direkt Platz 2, es war nun vorsichtiger Optimismus angesagt. Nachmittags im zweiten Qualifying lagen dann alle Karten auf dem Tisch und mit dem dritten Platz war ich dann immer noch sehr zufrieden, da wir auch zwei Gaststarter aus dem Profilager mit an Bord hatten, einer davon war etwas schneller.

Rennen 1 um 17:00 Uhr bei noch immer 30 Grad war von Anfang an ein Kampf, fair, sehenswert und alle Möglichkeiten lagen offen, mit Sekundenabstand als Dritter in das Ziel, alle waren happy, ich auch.

Rennen 2 am Folgetag morgens ließ alle Möglichkeiten offen, leider war die Zeit zu kurz um tatsächlich um den Sieg zu kämpfen. Mit alten Reifen gestartet, brauchten diese einige Zeit um Grip aufzubauen, daher war der Führende schon enteilt und bis ich die beiden Gaststarter überholt hatte, waren es trotz Aufholjagd immer noch einige Sekunden zu Thomas Lindemann, der auch eine gute Pace an den Tag legte.

Sehr zufrieden mit einem Grinsen im Gesicht ging es dann wieder am Montag nach Hause in die Realität. An dieser Stelle nochmal Danke an das Team Ecke für die ausgezeichnete Betreuung.

(Bericht Matthias Nonn)

Kontakt

TURBOGARAGE IN FRITZLAR

 

Adresse

Im Wehrengrund 2
34560 Fritzlar

Öffnungszeiten

Montag – Freitag: 08:00 – 17:00 Uhr
Samstag nach Vereinbarung

Telefon

05622/7981492

Anfahrt

Leider ist unsere Straße auf den meisten Karten noch nicht eingezeichnet. Mit der folgenden Beschreibung und Skizze sollten Sie uns aber leicht finden können.

  • A49 Ausfahrt 14 "Fritzlar" nehmen
  • (von Süden kommend: links abbiegen auf L3150 in Richtung Fritzlar)
  • Der rechten Spur in Richtung B450/Fritzlar/Edersee folgen
  • Rechts abbiegen auf L3214
  • An der Ampelkreuzung rechts abbiegen auf B450
  • Gleich danach wieder rechts auf die "Brautäcker"
  • Und zu guter Letzt noch einmal links abbiegen
  • Sie sind jetzt "im Wehrengrund" und finden uns auf der rechten Seite

Datenschutz

Bitte vor dem Absenden die Zahl 6721 als Spam-Schutz eingeben:

* Pflichtfeld