In 2021 we had the special opportunity to get one of the coveted starting places in the opening race of the legendary 24 Hours of Le Mans. The French organizer of the Porsche Sprint Challenge had invited. A total of 55 Porsches were registered and we received a positive decision for our entry. It certainly helped that we own a Porsche 993 GT2 that competed in the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 1998.

Extensive preparations were now necessary and the bureaucracy with corona restrictions did not necessarily simplify our project. The turbo garage then remained closed for a week and the entire team set off with a truck and motorhome.

Our Porsche 997 GT3 R was one of four other vehicles in this category, otherwise there were mainly 991 Cup 2nd Gen. and 992 Cup vehicles and several 991 GT3 R 2nd Gen. at the start.

The starting field was diverse, with drivers from New Zealand, Australia, England and mainly France and Belgium taking part. There was a pleasant atmosphere in the paddock and after all the preparations we went to two free practice sessions, each lasting 45 minutes, for qualifying. There we took 15th place and were able to maintain this in the race, making us the fastest German and the fastest 997 GT3 R.

Since we drove at Le Mans for the first time, the impressions were overwhelming, both of the track and the surroundings and the history, you can feel the history with every kilometer that is covered. Satisfied, exhausted and financially burdened, we returned home without any defects or damage.

The organizer made a film about the event, here is the link to YouTube:

WATCH VIDEO ON YOUTUBE

Contact

TURBOGARAGE IN FRITZLAR

 

Address

Im Wehrengrund 2
34560 Fritzlar

Opening hours

Monday – Friday: 08:00 – 17:00 Uhr
Samstag by appointment

Phone

+49 5622 7981492

E-Mail

Send e-mail

How to find us

Unfortunately, our street is not yet shown on most maps. With the following description and sketch you should be able to find us easily.

  • A49 take exit 14 “Fritzlar”
  • (coming from the south: turn left onto L3150 towards Fritzlar)
  • Follow the right lane towards B450/Fritzlar/Edersee
  • Turn right onto L3214
  • At the traffic lights turn right onto B450
  • Immediately afterwards turn right again onto “Brautäcker”
  • And last but not least, turn left again
  • You are now “in the Wehrengrund” and will find us on the right-hand side

Data protection

Please enter the number 5163 to protect against spam before sending:

* Required field

Im Jahr 2021 ergab sich für uns die besondere Möglichkeit einen der begehrten Startplätze des Eröffnungsrennens zum legendären 24 Stunden Rennen in Le Mans zu ergattern. Der französische Veranstalter der Porsche Sprint Challenge hatte eingeladen. Insgesamt waren 55 Porsche zugelassen und wir haben einen positiven Bescheid für unsere Nennung erhalten. Hilfreich war sicherlich, dass wir einen Porsche 993 GT2 besitzen, der die 24 Stunden von Le Mans in 1998 bestritten hatte.

Umfangreiche Vorbereitungen waren nun nötig und auch die Bürokratie mit Coronabeschränkungen vereinfachten unser Vorhaben nicht unbedingt. Die Turbogarage blieb dann eine Woche geschlossen und das gesamte Team machte sich mit LKW und Wohnmobil auf den Weg.

Unser Porsche 997 GT3 R war einer von weiteren vier Fahrzeugen dieser Kategorie, ansonsten waren hauptsächlich 991 Cup 2. Gen. und 992 Cup Fahrzeuge und mehrere 991 GT3 R 2. Gen. am Start.

Das Starterfeld war bunt gemischt, von Neuseeland, Australien, England und hauptsächlich Frankreich und Belgien war alles am Start. Es herrschte eine angenehme Atmosphäre im eigenen Fahrerlager und nach allen Vorbereitungen ging es zu zwei freien Trainings mit jeweils 45 Minuten zum Qualifying. Dort belegten wir den 15. Platz und konnten diesen im Rennen auch behaupten, wir waren somit der schnellste Deutsche und der schnellste 997 GT3 R.

Da wir zum ersten Mal in Le Mans gefahren sind waren die Eindrücke überwältigend, sowohl von der Strecke als auch vom Umfeld und der Historie, man spürt die Geschichte bei jedem Kilometer, der zurückgelegt wird. Zufrieden, erschöpft und finanziell arg belastet ging es dann wieder nach Hause, ohne Defekte und Schäden.

Der Organisator hat einen Film über das Event gedreht, hier der Link zu YouTube:

Video bei YouTube anschauen

Kontakt

TURBOGARAGE IN FRITZLAR

 

Adresse

Im Wehrengrund 2
34560 Fritzlar

Öffnungszeiten

Montag – Freitag: 08:00 – 17:00 Uhr
Samstag nach Vereinbarung

Telefon

05622/7981492

Anfahrt

Leider ist unsere Straße auf den meisten Karten noch nicht eingezeichnet. Mit der folgenden Beschreibung und Skizze sollten Sie uns aber leicht finden können.

  • A49 Ausfahrt 14 "Fritzlar" nehmen
  • (von Süden kommend: links abbiegen auf L3150 in Richtung Fritzlar)
  • Der rechten Spur in Richtung B450/Fritzlar/Edersee folgen
  • Rechts abbiegen auf L3214
  • An der Ampelkreuzung rechts abbiegen auf B450
  • Gleich danach wieder rechts auf die "Brautäcker"
  • Und zu guter Letzt noch einmal links abbiegen
  • Sie sind jetzt "im Wehrengrund" und finden uns auf der rechten Seite

Datenschutz

Bitte vor dem Absenden die Zahl 5159 als Spam-Schutz eingeben:

* Pflichtfeld